Baja or Jerga Pullover

Spicoli Sporting a Baja in Fast Times at Ridgemont High

A Baja or Jerga pullover is a two or three-tone woven Mexican hooded pullover made of a mix of cotton, acrylic & polyester with a large pocket on the front.  Hippies, surfers, skateboarders, Rastafarians, extreme sports enthusiasts and metal rockers often wear them.

Bajas are a favorite of comedy film “dudes” named Jeff; namely Jeff Spicoli in Fast Times at Ridgemont High and Jeffrey Lebowski in The Big Lebowski.

Baja a.k.a. Jerga Pullover

© Copyright 2010 Americana

Like This!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

6 Comments

Filed under Baja/Jerga, Pullovers

6 responses to “Baja or Jerga Pullover

  1. Ina

    Ah, love. Might perhaps sound surprising from my mouth, but I was a grunge kid back in the early 90’s and in the early 00’s I hang around with lots of hippies and skateboarders and myself I had really became a punk over the years (and in my heart I guess I still somehow am)… 🙂

  2. I think we’ve all been through our different “phases” in life. That’s what makes us so interesting now!

  3. Interesting piece of information! I didn´t know that pullover actually had a name.

  4. The baja hoodie is making a comeback and they are awesome!

Leave a comment